The Australian dollar (sign: $; code: AUD) is the currency of the Commonwealth of Australia. Within Australia it is almost always abbreviated with the dollar sign ($), with A$ sometimes used to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. 

Key facts:
  • The Australian dollar, which divides into 100 cents, is the national currency
  • Decimal currency was introduced on 14February 1966
  • In 1988, Australia introduced its first polymer bank note and in 1996, Australia became the first country in the world to have a complete series of polymer notes
  • Polymer note technology was developed by Australia, and Australia prints polymer notes for a number of other countries
  • Australia’s colourful bank notes come in denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 dollars